Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Posts Tagged ‘Cobargo’

'Subscriber Trunk Dialling Comes to Cobargo', The Times of Bega & District 24 June 1981
‘Subscriber Trunk Dialling Comes to Cobargo’, The Times of Bega & District 24 June 1981

1981 doesn’t seem that long ago but that was the year Cobargo switched over to an automatic STD exchange. Cobargo was the last location between Sydney and the Victorian border to change over from a manual magneto exchange to automated STD.

Cobargo’s exchange opened in 1910 and was housed in a very small room in the local Post Office serving 159 customers and was staffed by five operators; Maisie Bowtell, Maureen Jessop and Jixie Rose worked during the day and Charles Motby and Alex Tarlinton operated the exchange at night.

With the move to the new STD exchange the Cobargo Cooperative Creamery Butter Company had to give up its telephone number Cobargo 1, which the Company had held for 71 years. Imagine being able to say your telephone number was Cobargo 1!

The new exchange cost $75,000 and had a capacity of 200 lines with another 200 lines available for future use.

Does anyone remember when other towns in the area changed over to an STD exchange? Or do you have a photo of an old exchange system?

Source: “Subscriber trunk dialling comes to Cobargo”, The Times of Bega & District, 24 June 1981.

Advertisements

Read Full Post »

This image is from the collections of the State Library of NSW. At Work and Play – 02295

This image is from the collections of the State Library of NSW. At Work and Play – 02295

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It can be fascinating to delve into the history of your street or property as Gavin Carney found out recently. He kindly passed on a copy of his research to the library and gave us permission to post a summary here.

The chain of events that led to the naming of this road begins with the Tarlingtons at Cobargo, migrates north of Queensland and the Bernard Corser family, comes back to Cobargo and involves selling butter to the Cobargo Butter Factory and fathoms the age-old question of the day, what to do with a spinster sister-in-law.” (The Intriguing History of Glisson Watson Road by Gavin Carney, 2014).

Originally the land was owned by the Tarlington family and inherited by Norman Tarlinton. Enter one Bernard Corser, Member of the House of Representatives, Wide Bay Queensland. Mr Corser bought the farm business of Bredbatoura and lands from Norman Tarlinton and operated the property when in Canberra at Parliament.

The wife of Mr Corser was a Glisson and perhaps the ‘Glisson’ of Glisson Watson Road is named after Mrs Corser’s spinster sister, Miss Nora Glisson who died in 1952 and is buried at Bermagui.

The other half of the name concerns the Watson family. There was a Watson family living on the road. They were dairy farmers and sold butter to the Cobargo Butter Factory. One of the daughters, Norma, was a teacher at the Tanto School (near Wandella) which closed in 1933. By all accounts, this hard-working farming family can lay claim to the ‘Watson’ of Glisson Watson Road.

Thanks to Gavin for unearthing the mystery of the naming of the double-barrelled Glisson Watson Road.

Read Full Post »

%d bloggers like this: